Dark chocolate chips cookies

Think about the first thing that comes to your mind when you have nothing to do? when you’re bored, or finally after a long week you managed to get some ”me time”? what would you prefer to do? most people enjoy a cup of coffee or hot chocolate over,lazy on the couch with eyes fixed on a silly TV show. for me, this works sometimes, but at this season of my life relaxation means baking, losing the sense of time and get lost with a new recipe.

chocolate chips cookies, is a story of many trials, failures and success. I tried plenty of recipes.sometimes I ended up with a dozen of stony discs supposed to be cookies, I promised myself a long time ago not to throw anything in the garbage, the taste of failure isn’t that bad after all. It took me a long time to come up finally with a recipe I would share with others and get rewarded with admiration.

IMG_20170103_130121_337.jpg
this recipe is different from the classic one , it’s a lighter version and has cocoa powder in the ingredients. I also added almond chips, which I found at carefour for 6 L.E per 100 gm. they added more crunch to the texture.

I believe that baking is science, so I always tell my friends, that the secret of good baking is measuring. since I invested in the scale, and started to measure ingredients in grams, the recipes jumped to another level. not just this recipe, but any kind of baking will change dramatically if you switched to grams. I became very attached to my scale, even if I found a recipe measuring the ingredients with cups, I convert them into grams.

for these heavenly cookies, butter should be at room temperature, soft and silky. so, I make sure to get my butter out of the fridge the night before baking.
Julie Powell, the author of Julie &Julia said: ”Is there anything better than butter? Think it over : when we taste something delicious beyond imagining and you say “what is in this?” the answer is always going to be, butter”. I couldn’t agree more with her. touching the soft butter, and watching the dissolving of sugar in the butter, is a heart melting experience. I really love butter.

IMG_2308.JPG
this recipe is very easy, and takes no time. mix the soft butter with sugar, I used a combination of  white and brown sugar, but you can always use white only.

then added one egg  and vanilla with a half tsp of instant coffee ;).

IMG_2310.JPG

after a good mix with the mixer, I switched to my bright melon spatula, and folded the dry ingredients in the mixture. please make sure you don’t over mix at this point, as over mixing the flour activates the gluten, a protein that gives baked goods a firm structure, something that we don’t need here.

 

finally, I added the chocolate and almond chips, and folded them with the cookie dough. I also found a 90% dark chocolate bar in my fridge, it stayed on the shelf for too long because of its bitterness, so I chopped it into small chunks and folded them with the dough.
this recipe yielded about 24 cookies, and took about 7 minutes in the oven.
they are crunchy, rich, chocolaty, and perfect with coffee 🙂

IMG_20170103_130255_664.jpg

 

 

Dark chocolate chip cookies recipe:

ingredients:

-113 gm unsalted soft butter.

 

-50 gm white sugar.

-50 gm brown sugar ( or a total of 100 gm white sugar).

-1 egg.

-1/2 tsp vanilla.

-1/2 tsp instant coffee powder.

-95 gm all purpose flour.

-30 gm unsweetened cocoa powder.

-1/2 tsp baking soda.

-1/4 tsp salt.

-45 gm chocolate chips (optional).

-45 gm almond chips ( optional).

Directions:

  • preheat oven to 180 degree C.
  • in a  bowl, mix the dry ingredients together ( flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt).
  • in a separate bowl, with an electric or hand mixer, soften the butter, then add sugar and mix.
  • after the butter and sugar are mixed well, add the egg, vanilla, and coffee and mix again.
  •  with a rubber spatula, fold the dry ingredients into the mixture, until they are well incorporated.
  • add chocolate and almond chips and fold again, make sure you don’t over mix.
  • once the dough is ready, cover the bowl with a cling film, and chill the dough for 30 minutes in the fridge before baking, to get a nice rounded cookies, as chilling prevents over spreading of the dough.
  • with your hands form small balls of the cookie dough ,and line them on a baking sheet lined with a parchment paper. keep a distance of 4 cm between each one.
  • bake for 7 minutes.

 

Leave a Reply

