Salted caramel and chocolate pie

 

This is not an ordinary salted caramel and chocolate pie. the process of baking was therapeutic, and the sharing of the pie was a spiritual practice of forgiveness and moving on beyond my ego-eccentricity.

Several months ago I had a conflict with a girl whom we work together . we both made mistakes, but each one of us waited for the other to apologize first. In our culture apologizing is considered weakness, so we avoided each other for a long time.
One day I asked myself a question: what’s the point? what’s the point of disagreements as long as each one of us had her own respected point of view, and will never change it?  why can’t we accept each other this way? can’t we disagree over something today, and shake hands tomorrow? Do I really expect every person to like me and agree with all my actions? that’s not realistic.
I heard a story about one of  prophet Muhammad’s companions who came to the mosque for the prayer , when the prophet saw him he told his companions that this man is from the people of paradise. for three successive days, the prophet sees the man and repeats the same words. one of the companions followed the man to learn what he was doing to get this privilege, and so he can do like him . when he found that the man was doing nothing special, he addressed the man and mentioned what the prophet said about him, then asked ”what is it you do so I can do like you?”, and the man said ” I don’t find dishonesty in my heart to anyone”. simply he had a forgiving heart.
I went through many changes in thoughts during the last year, I learned that the only person who can make me angry is MYSELF.so, I shouldn’t blame anyone for losing control over my nerve.
getting busy with the self imperfections is a sacred journey that has no limits, because we are humans, we make mistakes, we will never be perfect. the wisdom of being a human is the journey itself. changing ourselves instead of changing everyone else. when the person realizes the essence of self change, he/she can reach for the deeper treasures, and start seeing the unseen, and rises up beyond superficial matters.
I made a vow to get busy with myself, stop trying to dominate my opinions, and to celebrate the beauty of diversity . and as a result I made peace with that girl who was a source of irritation and conflicts for me, then finally became my friend.
when I took the first step, I realized how blinded I was. I only saw the downsides when I was looking at my friend through  broken glasses, but after solving our problems I found a beautiful person who had a good heart and cared for everyone.
Two weeks before her wedding I made her a salted caramel chocolate pie, she was very happy that I made it special for her, but I was happier for the person I became.
That was the story behind my pie, let me tell you the story of the pie itself,
I consider This , the first successful crust I make, it’s flaky and light. it will melt in your mouth in seconds.
Basically, flour, pinch of salt, and cold butter, cut butter into cubes and add to the flour. with your fingertips, rub them together until the flour looks like bread crumbs, it may take a while, but patience is the key.
At this point, add one egg to bring the dough together. then iced water (a glass of water, with few ice cubes) one spoon at a time, until the dough is a one solid mass.

 

On a floured surface, shape the dough into a rounded disk, wrap in cling film and chill for 30 minutes.

img_2394

 

when the dough is chilled, take it out of the fridge on a floured surface and roll it until it’s about 0.5 cm thickness. transfer it to a tart pan , any rounded baking pan, or a pie dish, and trim the edges.

IMG_2398.JPG

 

IMG_2400.JPG
I had a lot of leftovers from the dough, that I didn’t want to waste,so I made these cuts with cookie cutters to decorate the top.

img_2401
Chill it again for 30 minutes. when we work on the dough we change the temperature of the butter, so we chill it to make it cold.
After 30 minutes, the dough is ready to be a pie, with a fork pierce few holes in the bottom, cover it with aluminum foil, add any beans that you don’t need, and bake it for 20 minutes, then take the foil and the baking beans out, and bake it again for another 15 minutes.

 

img_2407

I baked the shapes separately in a baking sheet, they took about 10 minutes.
While the pie is relaxing in the sauna (the oven) 🙂 , it’s time to make the salted caramel and chocolate ganache.
Salted caramel is my favorite sauce ever, it’s my guilty pleasure, I sneak to the kitchen after midnight for full spoons of this sauce, you have to make it yourself to know what I’m talking about.
It starts with the sugar and water, in the sauce pan over medium heat DON’T STIR THEM TOGETHER ONCE THEY ARE OVER THE HEAT. just gently swirl the sauce pan to combine them, and let the heat do the chemical work of turning the sugar granules into this magical liquid called ”caramel”.

weigh butter and cream, while waiting for the sugar to come to the perfect amber color. once you see the color you have to add the butter immediately and whisk it with caramel to melt, then wait for a wile to add cream. be careful at this stage, as the caramel bubbles once cream is added, it’s really hot and if the sauce pan is not high enough it could spill from the sides. whisk again and add a pinch of salt. then turn the heat down and let it cool completely, it will be burning hot, so be careful.

img_2420

 

img_2424

 

 

cooled caramel

For the ganache, simmer the cream over a medium heat then add it to a coarsely chopped chocolate, let them set for 2 minutes then stir with a spoon or a whisk until chocolate dissolves completely in cream.

IMG_2417.JPG
when the pie crust, cools down completely, pour salted caramel sauce in the bottom, then cover with ganache. Let this beauty sit in the fridge for at least four hours, then share it with someone you love.

img_20170213_153433_488

Ingredients:
– 150 gm flour
-75 gm butter, chilled and cubed.
-iced water ( one spoon at a  time until the dough is a solid mass).
– 1 egg
-pinch of salt

Salted Caramel sauce:

– 225 gm sugar
-60 gm water
-90 gm butter
-115 gm cream
-pinch of salt

Ganache:

-120 gm bittersweet chocolate
-120 gm cream

Directions:
– In a mixing bowl, add flour, salt and butter. with your fingertips rub them together, until the mixture resembles coarse bread crumbs.
-Add one egg and bring the dough together.
-Transfer to a floured surface, add iced water one spoon at time, until the dough is solid.
-Shape it into a rounded disc, wrap it with a cling film and chill for 30 minutes.
-After 30 minutes, roll the dough to a half cm thickness circle. transfer to a pie dish or a tart pan, trim the edges and chill again for 30 minutes.
-Preheat the oven to 180 degree c.
-With the fork pierce the bottom of the dough, cover with foil and fill with baking beans.
-Bake the dough for 20 minutes, then remove the foil and bake again for another 15 minutes.
-Let the dough cool completely before filling with salted caramel* and chocolate ganache**.
-Pour caramel in the bottom of the pie, then pour the chocolate ganache over.
-Chill for at least 4 hours.
*salted caramel sauce:
-In a sauce pan, add sugar and water and raise over medium heat.
-When the sugar color darkens to amber, add butter and whisk until it’s completely melted.
-Then add cream and whisk again, be careful as it will bubble, so your sauce pan should be deep enough.
-Add a pinch of salt, and turn down the heat.
-Let the caramel cool down before pouring in the pie.
** chocolate ganache:
-In a medium sized bowl add coarsely chopped chocolate.
-Simmer the cream, then pour it over the chocolate.
-Wait for two minutes, then stir them together, until they are completely dissolved.

Leave a Reply

