Ginger and lemon cookies

I was born in August, so I belong to the deep hot sun. my yearly struggle starts with the winter,  we never made peace, I’m always crumbled beneath a blanket or wrapped with 100 layers of everything I can put my hands on from my wardrobe. cold hurts my skin , my bones and most importantly my soul.

But there is no thing to soothe my ached soul and give me the sense of warmth like food.

spinach has always been my dearest friend, this year my kitchen celebrated the green color until it became blinded to other colors, and my husband begged me to stop this spinach mania, so I had to find something else.

In addition to spinach, and baking I have another passion from my mother whom I love to call the ”spice woman”, she’s a doctor in Saudi Arabia with many Saudi and Indian friends. her food is always loaded with different flavors, forming a wonderful marriage between Indian and Saudi Arabian cuisines. I was directly infected by this passion. the love of spices takes you in a minute around the globe.one day  you can season everything with cilantro like a Mexican,  and the next day you find yourself in a Turkish kitchen in downtown Istanbul mixing minced beef and cumin for a grilled Kofta, which doesn’t last for too long as you find yourself hanging around a local Madagascar market looking for cloves to season a rice pudding dish for dinner.

One of the spices that remained a loyal winter friend is ginger, fresh or powdered, both works as heaters. we have been friends for more than ten years, and I have my mom to thank for this. grated over a salad, mixed with other flavors to marinade a chicken, soaked with cinnamon as a hot drink (like i’m doing now ), it could also be a seasoning for desserts like apple cakes and pumpkin bread, simply it adds life to anything.

For these cookies, I used both fresh and  ginger spice to maximize the flavor. and to go more wild I added lemon zest and a little bit of lemon juice.

IMG_2498.JPG

 

These cookies are very easy, you can save them in an air tight container, but I don’t think they will last for two days, no one will have this kind of patience.

Simply, mix dry ingredients together (flour, baking powder, baking soda,oats, cinnamon, ginger spice and salt) in a bowl.

IMG_2491.JPG,

In a separate bowl cream butter and sugar (half a cup brown and half a cup white regular) together then add one egg, grated ginger and lemon zest, mix them well then add half a  lemon juice.

If you don’t have brown sugar, you can simply skip it and mix the butter with one cup white sugar, or you can make brown sugar yourself, by mixing half a cup white sugar with two tablespoons molasses.

 

IMG_2490.JPG

Fold the flour mixture into the butter, I added some chopped nuts, and folded them with the mixture, but you can skip them, as the ginger and lemon are utterly enough.

IMG_2492.JPG
Finally spoon the cookies on a baking sheet and bake them for 10 minutes.

IMG_2494.JPG

 

 

Ginger and Lemon Cookies:

Ingredients:

 

– 1/2 cup (113 gm) unsalted butter (room temperature).

– 1 cup (200 gm) granulated sugar, or (100 gm white granulated sugar, and 100 gm brown sugar)

-1 egg (room temperature).

-lemon zest.

– 1 tablespoon grated ginger.

– juice of half a lemon.

-1 cup ( 128 gm) all purpose flour.

-1/2 tsp cinnamon

-1/2 tsp baking soda

-1/2 tsp baking powder

– 1 tsp ginger spice.

-1/2 tsp salt.

-1 cup (85 gm) rolled old fashion oats.

– 1/2 cup chopped mixed nuts (optional)

Directions:

– In a bowl cream together soft butter and sugar with an electric or hand mixer until they are well mixed for about 3 minutes.

-Add one egg, lemon zest, ginger and lemon juice.

-In a separate bowl mix together dry ingredients ( flour,baking soda,oats, baking powder cinnamon, ginger spice and salt).

-Fold dry ingredients mix in the butter with a rubber spatula. be careful don’t over mix them, stop once flour is invisible.

-Fold chopped nuts (optional).

-Spoon the cookies on a baking sheet, lined with parchment paper or aluminum foil ( shiny part down). keep a distance between each cookie about 3 cm.

-Bake for 10 minutes, or until you see golden brown edges, and a little bit undone center.

-Share them with someone you love.

2 thoughts on “Ginger and lemon cookies

Leave a Reply

